The Tower Bridge, one of London’s most famous landmarks, is the basalt and suspension bridge over the River Thames. It has two towers, Victorian Gothic style, connected with two walkways that are built so that they can withstand horizontal forces from the suspended sections of the bridge. The base of each tower has machines that carry two sections of the bridge so the bridge can allow the streaming traffic to pass under it. The tower is located near the Tower of London from where its name originated.
London’s East End made such high commercial growth in the mid-19th that it demanded to cross another river. In 1876, a “special tower or subway committee” was formed to look for solutions. Some 50 designs were submitted, but due to considerable controversy, approval of one design took eight years. It was a design presented by the city’s architect Sir Horse Jones, which he designed in collaboration with John Wolfberry. Construction began in 1886 and continued until 1894. Five companies and 432 workers worked in it. It contains only 70,000 tonnes of solid concrete and 10,000 tonnes of steel in the foundation and has been covered in Cornish granite and Portland stone as a protection element and as an aesthetic element. Victorian Gothic style is used to tightly connect the tower with the nearby Tower of London. The Prince and Princess of Wales officially opened the bridge on June 30, 1894. The bridge connected Horseley Down Lane, today Tower Bridge Road, Iron Gate, today to Tower Bridge Approach.
The bridge is close to the port so it was necessary to build it so that it could allow passage of the ships. The machines that the school raises are hydraulic steam-machines until 1974 when they were replaced by an electro-hydraulic drive system. Some of the old steam machines have become a tourist attraction and are part of a tour of the Tower Bridge Museum.
The tower is still in operation and is still an important crossroads of teams. On a daily basis, about 40 40,000 people cross it in both directions. While it was controlled manually from the beginning, in 2000, a computer control system was installed to reduce the height of the baccalaureate and remotely. Bascules are picked up 3 times a day and require 24-hour notice from the ship which requires passage.
After their closure in 1910, walkways were reopened in 1982 as part of the Tower Bridge Exhibition. Exhibits show photos, exhibits, and films showing the history of the tower and are housed in bridge towers, bridge walkways, and Victorian engine rooms.
In 2008, it entered the reconstruction of the tower which lasted four years. The metal parts were stripped of the original paint and repainted in white and blue. New lights, both functional and environmental, were installed in walkways and suspension chains were reinstalled with six layers of protective paint. The next renovation is planned in 25 years.